Simple Joys

8 03 2010

Several years ago I came across a chapter in a book that suggested writing a list of all the things that bring you joy. I quickly realized that creating a list of my simple joys is worth it.  So often in the” busyness” of starting your new business, it is difficult to carve out big or even small chunks of time just for you.

A simple joys list gives you a resource for unexpected empty moments; it gives you satisfaction and joy in hard times; it gives you a finer sense of who you are and what happiness is right at your fingertips. 

The criteria for simple joys include: 

  1. It has to be something you love to do. 
  2. It should not cost money—or very, very little. 
  3. It has to be something you can do within the area where you live or in your own home. 
  4. It can be accomplished within an hour or two. 
  5.  It is something that you can do alone (this one is optional). 

I love to read, so three of the simply joys on my list include sitting on the couch with a book, having a long bubble bath with a book, and sitting on my deck on an early summer morning with a book.

Can you come up with a list of 20 ideas for your simple joys list? Some ideas could be:  taking an early-morning walk, singing in the shower, rocking a child, a shiny clean floor, skipping pebbles in the water, and eating a warm chocolate chip cookie fresh from the oven.

Bev McCrostie, M.Ed.
Virtual Assistant Certificate
Red Deer College
Bev.mccrostie@rdc.ab.ca
www.virtualassist.ca

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2010
Kristen

Simple Joys! I love it!!!
When life gets so busy I forget about doing anything enjoyable… but remembering that it’s the simple things that bring so much joy- that might help me live a more balanced life. After all- 1-2 hours… I can do that!
Great idea. I’m going to go start my list right now!

9 03 2010
Bev McCrostie

Let me guess, Kristen, is blogging on your list of simple joys?! I enjoy the time I spend reading your blog. You manage to see the humour in life.

Leave a Reply

